Half way there

The Halfway Mark is Upon Us!

Well, this year is flying by for me! It is time to take a look back and see what we have and have not accomplished for the first ½ of the year.

Something a life coach taught me was not to get caught in the GAP. For those of you not familiar with the term, the GAP is when you’re constantly trying to reach a goal on the horizon which keeps moving with the horizon.  Over achievers, like us, are never satisfied and want to be bigger, better, faster and stronger.  When that target moves further into the horizon it becomes very frustrating, and makes achieving my goals all that much harder.

The secrect to my success is simple, I look back at what I have accomplished and celebrate those successes (big or small) daily as they give me the strength to continue to strive to be bigger, better, faster and stronger.

When I looked back, this is what I saw…

  • Our company has added another 300 virtual desktops to our Cloud
  • We fortified our backup backend with new infrastructure and increased capicity
  • Our staff has matured, we gained some new talent and we are growing the cloud by leaps and bounds.
  • We found ourselves atop a list of Cloud Service Providers, a great accomplishment in our industry.

So, the moral to my story is, it’s ok to stop, look back and be grateful.  Celebrate your successes!  This will help you achieve more then you ever dreamed possible.

 

About steveferman

I am the creator and owner of eTegrity systems International, a cloud based Backup and Recovery provider for Msp's and Vars. I am also the President of Compunite Computers, inc. a 22 year old MSP and named top 100 MSp's 3 years running. I am known as the busiest man in backup and also do a lot of speaking for industry publications like IT world and Msp Alliance. I hope I can share some good insights and knowledge from my over 30 years in the industry.
This entry was posted in Just some thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Half way there

  1. Jill Klem says:

    Instead of keeping only a “To-do” list, I also keep a “Did-do” list so I can look back and see all that I have accomplished. Big or small, our successes are what got us where we are today and let us never lose sight of that!

  2. steveferman says:

    It is always much easier to measure success by looking at what we accomplished and much harder to meet the ideal or the horizon which is always a moving target. I also do what is called a positive focus write down what I have accomplished. 🙂 thanks for the comment

Leave a Reply

