What’s Important?

It has been a while since my last post, mainly because of travel and just life, well work life that is… and I thought I would try something different!  Personal thoughts NOT about technology.  Having been immersed in technology for the better part of my life can I actually separate my personal thoughts from what I am doing every day?

Let’s give it a shot…

Like I said, I have been spending a lot of time traveling from one place to another and I find myself wondering what is truly important in life.   Well, you must have money and to get it you must work, but can you call something you love “work”?  If so, then you are one of the lucky ones like me who are doing what we love.

Money is important but happiness well supersedes the almighty dollar assuming your standard of living is sustainable.  But we cannot forget the simple things which have no monetary value but are priceless like a beautiful spring day after a harsh winter, the time your child looked at you with those trusting and loving eyes or why we are so passionate about the work that we do.  When is the last time you stopped running and just hung out with your family, took a walk or just ate a meal together?  Too many of us are running around like mice on a tread wheel.

It is important in this fast paced world to stop from time to time and evaluate what we are spending our time doing! Do we love it or hate it?  Most importantly, do we have a good perspective on what is important in our lives?  Sometimes I just need to take the time to stop & think and then the bigger picture comes into focus.

Doing is easy.  Having the discipline to find out what you love doing is the hard part.  But so worth doing the work!

So, how did I do?  Leave me a comment and let me know!

About steveferman

I am the creator and owner of eTegrity systems International, a cloud based Backup and Recovery provider for Msp's and Vars. I am also the President of Compunite Computers, inc. a 22 year old MSP and named top 100 MSp's 3 years running. I am known as the busiest man in backup and also do a lot of speaking for industry publications like IT world and Msp Alliance. I hope I can share some good insights and knowledge from my over 30 years in the industry.
This entry was posted in Just some thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s Important?

  1. Bonnie says:

    I completely agree. I recently took a solo trip to Bermuda where I met some of the nicest people living simple, happy lives. I cherish the simple pleasures life has to offer – sharing a meal with a close friend, taking my niece to the park, and watching the surprised look on my grandparents face when I surprise visit them.
    Thanks for sharing.

    • steveferman says:

      Yeah life is too short and in the technology world we live in I think there can be a good balance as long as we never forget where we came from. Thanks for the comment Bonnie.

      Steve

Leave a Reply

