Tearing down the silos within a company

I was reading a great interview in the NY times and thought it would be a good read for my fans or readers if you will.

Mark Gumz CEO of Olympus Corporation has a lot of the same values as I do and what really struck me was the section below but I highly suggest a once over the entire article.

Q. What were some important early leadership lessons for you?

A. I was a humanities graduate with a major in English literature. I had never taken a business class. And I got a job early on with a great company, G.E. I was in sales, which I felt very comfortable in because I had been writing papers in college. I had to develop a thesis statement, and I had to prove that thesis. And depending on how well I did it, I got a certain grade. So I was confident that I could sell, and I was confident I could have conviction about what I was selling.

And so my boss said, “That’s good. But let me give you a few tips.” He said: “No. 1, don’t make any promises you can’t keep. No. 2, keep every promise that you make. No. 3, if you don’t know the answer, say you don’t know the answer. People will accept that you don’t know the answer. But what they can’t accept is if you tell them something that’s wrong, because they’re going to act on that. And then if you have to come back later with a different answer, you’ll lose credibility.

“And the other thing is, get back to me. If you say you’re going to get back to me with an answer, make sure you get back. If you do all those things, you’ll be successful.”

And off I went. I felt empowered by that, because they were very simple lessons, and I’ve never forgotten them

I would, however, like to add this one rule Mark does not mention and that is “Always be on time”.   It shows a lack of respect for someone elses time when your late.  Read the rest of the story here.   http://lnkd.in/Wm6B56

About steveferman

I am the creator and owner of eTegrity systems International, a cloud based Backup and Recovery provider for Msp's and Vars. I am also the President of Compunite Computers, inc. a 22 year old MSP and named top 100 MSp's 3 years running. I am known as the busiest man in backup and also do a lot of speaking for industry publications like IT world and Msp Alliance. I hope I can share some good insights and knowledge from my over 30 years in the industry.
This entry was posted in Just some thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tearing down the silos within a company

  1. Doug says:

    These values will always withstand the test of time. Forward your article to DC – seems many have forgotten the basics. “Say what you do – do what you say”

Leave a Reply

